Upcoming events

Follow Us

Log in

Log in

History of COGS

Founded 1991

Inspired and Founded by Nathan B. Miller, Marketing, Taylor Manor Hospital Center and Kathryn Chrysal, R.N. Harmony Hall Retirement Community.

Founding Board Members

  • Nate Miller, President
  • Duane St. Clair, Vice President
  • Katherine Chrystal, Treasurer
  • Ellen Willingham, Secretary
  • Audrey Besmanoff
  • Marcia Ansel, SW, Springfield State Hospital
  • Barbara Harris, Senior Information & Assistance, Office on Aging
  • Judy Horenski, Visiting Nurses Association
  • Dot Keczmerski, S.P.R.I.N.G. Support Groups
  • Florence Bain, Senior Center
  • Jeanette Krapcho, Senior Health Insurance Counseling, Office on Aging
  • Sadie Perkins, Hospice of Visiting Nurse Association
  • Jessica Rowe, Jewish Family Services
  • Patricia Storch, Elder Law attorney
  • Eileen Yaeger, Home Health Care


According to the IRS case-manager who handled COGS' application, the Coalition was the first organization of its type to receive such recognition. The IRS case manager explained that considerably more time was given to evaluation of our application because there were no "precedents" within IRS records with which to compare criteria. The Coalition thus became a precedent for future like organizations.

Board of Directors

The first Board of Directors met at Taylor Manor Hospital Center in Ellicott City but moved shortly after founding to the Florence Bain Senior Center, then to Harmony Hall Retirement Community for a year or so. The Visiting Nurses Association in the Dorsey Hall Village Center hosted Board Meetings for a year or so until the Boards' move to Heartlands Retirement Community, where it met for many years before moving its meetings to the Residences at Vantage Point. As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Board of Directors now meets virtually.

Past Presidents

  • Mark Bobotek
  • Katie Davis
  • Victoria Hathaway
  • Deb Valenza
  • D'Alan Baugh
  • Stephen Elville, Esq.
  • David Hepple, MBA, CFP
  • Mary Ann Wilkinson
  • Elizabeth Weglein
  • Kathy Chrystal
  • Nate Miller

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software